Counting Down!!

I rather pick pumpkin's, thank you!

Countless barrels of rotting biomass have been harvested three times this summer, in vain.

On Friday, Martha hand delivered about 200 handbills to the neighbors surrounding Flannagan Pond.  She covered Calvin Street, Oak Ridge Drive, Groton-Harvard Road, Central Avenue and Sandy Pond Road.  Kudos and thanks to Martha.

The response has been overwhelmingly positive.  People are truly concerned about how the pond has been neglected in recent years.  I spent an hour and a half on Saturday evening reading and responding to the many e-mail messages that I received in the saveourpond@gmail.com  mailbox on Saturday.

The website was unknown on Friday morning, but on Saturday we had 83 visitors and on Sunday, as I am drafting this post, we’ve already had 45.  For a neighborhood initiative, that is an overwhelming response.  As good as that is, it is not enough.  We need people to come out on Wednesday evening at 7:00 to meet at the Town Hall.

We want to share our vision with you all and we want to gather your input and your support as we move forward.  I have received many e-mails from people who say they will be there.  I hope to see you there.  While you’re at it, run across the street and grab your neighbors and bring them with you.

Chuck

About saveourpond

I am a lifelong resident of Ayer who lives on Flanagan's Pond.
This entry was posted in Calls to Action. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Counting Down!!

  1. Paul Pillman says:

    I grew up at 7 Calvin St. I lived there from 1961 until 1978. I then moved to Wright Rd where my parents lived until 1995. Needless to say I grew up around Flanagan/Fletcher Pond.

    My Eagle Scout service project had to do with the conservation of the pond. One of the major issues in the 1980’s was the nitrates leeching into the water from people’s septic systems which promoted the weed growth. When the sewer project when through it pretty much did away with that problem.

    The main problem that you face is that the median depth of the water in the pond is approximately 4 feet. This does not allow enough depth to filter the sunlight to retard the growth of the weeds. Another problem is that the whole area used to be a meadow with a small stream flowing down the middle that was flooded and damned down by Ayer Moving and Storage.

    There used to be alot of weed control measures (spraying of chemicals) in the 1980’s but as far as I know there was no long term management plan in place.

    In the end it’s my opinion that Flanagan/Fletcher Pond is going to do exactly what it wants to do no matter the efforts of the surrounding residents. But I wish you the best of luck. That pond used to have some of the most incredible bass fishing in the entire area. I’d like to see that again.

  2. saveourpond says:

    Paul;

    Thanks for your comments. Though I’ve only lived on the pond for six years, I have also spent my life in Ayer. I agree that left unchecked, nature will prevail. Since the pond is manmade, it is not unreasonable to expect manmade intervention must be utilized to control and manage the pond, including the invasive weeds.

    Our frustration is that for years on end experts have been commissioned by the Town of Ayer to study the pond and to make recommendations, yet their five year remediation plans are often abandoned after the first year, sometimes due to lack of funding, sometimes due to seasonal conditions, and sometimes due to neglect.

    Our desire is to bring forces to bear to ensure that remediation efforts are initiated and maintained. You state it well when you say: “..as far as I know there was no long term management plan in place.” That is what we are looking to push forward, “long-term management.” I’ll keep you in the loop via e-mail and this web page. We will persevere and you will be bass fishing again.

    Regards,
    Chuck

Leave a Reply

