The Skating Heron

This has been a fascinating weekend for weather on Flannagan Pond.  On Saturday I awoke to see the glassy sheen of ice had been replaced by a lightly textured dusting of snow.

Sunday morning when I left for church, sleet had covered everything and made driving quite treacherous. Witnessing several accidents in Harvard, I turned around made the trek back home.  A few hours later the temperature had risen from the twenties into the high forties and the sleet converted to steady, heavy rain.

As I sipped on a cup of coffee, I stared out the window and witnessed something I had never seen in all our years on the pond; a heron, walking on the ice.  I was able to capture a few photos of him as he gingerly walked across our view.  As I scrolled through the photos on my computer, it was like the old flip-book cartoons and it looked like he was skating across the ice.  I cropped a photo for this post, that is why the picture is grainy.  Stay warm!  Stay dry! Pour yourself another cup of coffee and go look out the window.

Chuck

About saveourpond

I am a lifelong resident of Ayer who lives on Flanagan's Pond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

