Guest Post by Warren Ball

a Canoe RideI was recently asked what brought me to Flannagan’s Pond.  To answer this honestly, it was not by choice at first. My grandfather built the house on the pond in 1917. It is where my dad grew up. We lived in Lunenburg from 1969 to 1980 when my parents decided to remodel the family homestead.

At first I hated the move but then I fell in love with idea when I found out how much fun I could have on the water. In the 80s, the water was clean enough to swim in. I had my best friend across the pond and we would have water wars with our home made row boats. We fished and swam in the summer and ice skated in the winter.

In 1983 I met my future wife who lived on Sandy Pond. Our first apartment was in the center of Ayer and our first house was in Devenscrest. Beyond our dreams, we found a way to buy the house next to my parents in 2004. For the first time–it was our choice to live on this pond. I will post pictures but if you can, imagine a 5 year old beautiful girl catching her first sunfish with her dad and grandfather in her backyard. I have tons of stories that revolve around love and solitude found on this magical pond. If you don’t mind, I will keep sharing them with you all.

Thanks Warren, we look forward to more stories and pictures.  Chuck

About saveourpond

I am a lifelong resident of Ayer who lives on Flanagan's Pond.
This entry was posted in Pond Living. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Post by Warren Ball

  1. Debra Faust-Clancy says:

    This great. More please!

Leave a Reply

