The End of the World….Not!!

I was rather disturbed when my alarm clock went off this morning.  I really expected I was going to be able to sleep in, because the world was supposed to end yesterday.  So when I went to bed at 11 o’clock I figured I would never wake up since there was only 60 minutes left to time as we know it.

At 7:00 o’clock this morning I knew the world had not ended when I looked out my second story bedroom balcony, overlooking my emerald green lawn, and gazed upon the sea of milfoil and fanwort floating upon the surface of the pond.

I do believe God is all powerful, so if He had really brought the world to an end, He certainly could have destroyed the weeds on Flannagan Pond, even without UDAG funds.  But since we have been blessed with another day to walk on God’s green earth, I guess we will have to subdue the weeds ourselves.  So today we wake up to several questions, some eschatological, like when will the world really come to an end; some economic, like how will the Town pay to manage the weeds on Flannagan Pond; and some political, like will Town officials lead, follow, or get out of the way?

Chuck

PS I made up the part about the emerald green lawn just to push someone’s buttons

About saveourpond

I am a lifelong resident of Ayer who lives on Flanagan's Pond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

