Dam(n) Beavers!! Part I

Late last night, and early this morning, I noticed I had several e-mail messages, in several different accounts, mentioning concerns about rising water, breached dams, etc.  I walked to my dock this morning and noticed the water had risen at least six inches within the past 18 hours.

At 6:00 this morning I went to the end of Oak Ridge Drive and talked to two DPW crew members who told me that a series of beaver dams at the north end of Pine Meadow (Erskine Pond) broke loose yesterday.  This evening, when I get back home, I will post more detailed info about what happened and how it may impact Wednesday’s scheduled weed treatment of Flannagan Pond. In the meantime, check out this interesting web portfolio of a large beaver dam in Connecticut. I was amused that this guy is also named Charles Miller.

Chuck

About saveourpond

I am a lifelong resident of Ayer who lives on Flanagan's Pond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment