My Apologies

The following note is from Becky DaSilva-Conde at Ayer Conservation in response to the sarcasm that tinged the survey I posted earlier today.  I have responded personally to her comments offline and copied all members of ConsCom.  While my desire is not to seek political correctness, it is not to be outrightly offensive either. I will try to do better in the future.  Mea Culpa.

Chuck

Hi Chuck,

I truly appreciate you posting my updates on your pond newsletter/website. It certainly helps me in spreading the word to everyone as quickly as possible.

However, I must let you know that I am quite disappointed with the commentary on your recent survey. It doesn’t help when you, acting as the Flannagan Pond steward, are making such sarcastic comments about the Conservation Commission as a whole. It instigates further resentment toward ALL of us and undermines our good intentions, effort, and work. Especially when, as we’ve already discussed, the majority of the Commission members particularly those two that stood up at Town Meeting, are actually in favor of having Flannagan Pond treated and managed long-term!


About saveourpond

I am a lifelong resident of Ayer who lives on Flanagan's Pond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Apologies

  1. warren says:

    To Becky DaSilva, Although you can not be blamed directly, I feel the most people on the ponds are frustrated with the conversation Committee in general for the lack of attention and organization over the years that lead us to the point we had to form a group to take control of our weed problem. Mr Miller did a ton of work to concentrate on just one pond to get the process rolling but only at the town meeting did the conservation committee say then they wanted to treat all the ponds with the money Mr Miller raised. Its nice we have a little trail behind the landfill but what has the committee really been doing for the past 20 years? If I were on the committee, I would be asking the people of the town what they “Don,t Like” and focusing my energy on establishing a corrective plan for the future.
    There are many reasons to clean up our ponds.Although the biggest reason being on the Eco side, I know a lot of people our worried about the financial side. IN this day when our property values mean the most to our future and selling prices are at the worst–Try selling a house with a spin like –Moist pasture land, Swamp front property. Back yard mud bogging.
    Unfortunately, I dont believe the beaver damn was an accident and weed control looks out of our hands for chemical treatment. Has anyone looked into renting a weed harvester? I common practice we used in the 70s and 80s here. I lost track with the history of it but at one point we shared owner ship of one with Harvard on their bear hill pond.
    Where there is a Will “there is a Way!”

Leave a Reply

