The Final Word on 2011 Weed Treatment

Do not despair, Flannagan Pond will look like this again.

Today I received an e-mail from Jessica Gugino of the Conservation Commission. She shared the final recommendation from Lycott Environmental regarding the treatment of Flannagan Pond.  Simply stated, there won’t be any weed treatment until Spring 2012. Believe me I am as disappointed as you are, but I am not surprised. The delay precipitated by the beaver dam collapse pushed us beyond the window to treat the Milfoil and Fanwort. Read Will Stevenson’s attached letter for more detail.

Several folks have asked me why ACT was able to treat Sandy Pond and Pine Meadow (Erskine Pond) this week.  Well the nature of the treatment is different because all that is required on those ponds is spot treatment.  I believe I have more specific information in my archives, but I don’t have immediate access to it and ‘m going to bed.

Chuck

About saveourpond

I am a lifelong resident of Ayer who lives on Flanagan's Pond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Final Word on 2011 Weed Treatment

  1. Tom Callahan says:

    Could the pond be drained in October to let the weeds freeze?

Leave a Reply

