Flannagan Pond Article prevails at Fall Town Meeting

This is the 100th post on this blog.  I am thrilled to pass the century mark.

What better way to celebrate than with a post about another victory at Town Meeting.

Article 4 was the most contentious discussion at the meeting, in the same way Article 38 was at the Annual Town Meeting in May. The difference was that this time the vote was overwhelmingly in favor of our initiative.

Congratulations to all the citizens of Ayer and the neighbors surrounding Flannagan Pond who will share in this victory as we move into an era of Pond Stewardship in Ayer.

Special thanks go to Selectman Gary Luca who championed the Community Preservation effort on our behalf. Thanks to the many members of the Board of Selectmen, Finance Committee, Conservation Commission and Community Preservation Committee who supported this effort. I truly believe we have turned the corner in making Ayer’s Pond a priority.

Thanks so much for coming out to vote.

Chuck

About saveourpond

I am a lifelong resident of Ayer who lives on Flanagan's Pond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Flannagan Pond Article prevails at Fall Town Meeting

  1. Michele says:

    I also want to take the time to say thank you to everyone who devoted their time on a Monday night to stand and be counted, literally. While I planned to be at the meeting at 7, life was getting in my way, convinced that I was going to miss our agenda item, I contemplated just staying at home. My conscious got the better of me and boy am I glad of it! I showed up just as Article 3 was completed and our Article 4 got started. I truly thought that the momentum for pond “maintenance” (or whatever it is deemed) was diminishing, but once the debates got started I was so incredibly proud to realize that I was sitting amongst a pretty large posse.

    So again, I don’t think I can express how much gratitude I have for everyone who shares my concerns over the pond…THANKS!

    • saveourpond says:

      Michele, when I met you at our first meeting in my living room in August of 2010 I told you it would be a long ongoing battle and that perseverance would be the key. That means we have to sit through these meetings on occasion, when we would rather be snuggled up on the couch with a glass of wine.

      Besides, these meetings are an excellent opportunity to meet new neighbors. I had the pleasure of sitting next to a gentleman from the Pond View Estates who had never been to a Town Meeting before. He had a great time.

      Chuck

  2. Ginny Matthews says:

    Thank you to all who worked to save “The Pond”. Thank you especially to Chuck for being our spokesman, and saying what we all had in our minds.
    Ginny M.

    • saveourpond says:

      Ginny;

      It is wonderful that people came out to vote. The elections and the Town Meetings are where we can make a difference. It is rewarding to issue a “Call to Action” and have people show up to be counted. Now we cannot rest on our laurels, we have to encourage the Dam and Pond Management Committee and the Conservation Commission so our funding bears fruit with a comprehensive stewardship of these wonderful resources.

      Chuck

      • A Sportsman says:

        re: Now we cannot rest on our laurels, we have to encourage the Dam and Pond Management Committee – let’s see, it has been 6 years since MassDEP requested Ayer provide a Dam Management Plan, which by the way can be done in one meeting sitting in maybe an hour or so. How many man hours do you estimate that were put into getting to where we are now? I do appreciate the work Chuch and others have done but the town and BOS should be ashamed of all of this. But then again we don’t require accountability anymore. As long as we are nice to each other the environment and wildlife don’t matter so much.

  3. A Sportsman says:

    How’s that dam management plan coming along, again an hours work, maybe two.

  4. Michele says:

    Working on it. Seems an appointment will be made in January.

  5. A Sportsman says:

    Awesome! To date since MassDEP made the request it has only taken 6 years, 1 month, and 19 days to get to the point where we may make an appointment next month. I am impressed…

Leave a Reply

